Same town, different turret

It's been a beautiful day today, blue sky and bright sunshine, though with a biting wind. I visited the library this morning and was given a hand-drawn leaf on which to record one book that I remember from my childhood. I had no difficulty in choosing 'The Strange Tale of Humpy Horse', A Russian Tale Retold by Rodney Bennett, 1937. A lovely story about a strange little horse and the Tsar of Russia. 

Before going home I had a short walk around the area, Blipfoto in mind. Oban has quite a number of turreted houses and this one stands at the end of the High Street before it turns into Glenshellach Terrace.

This former Industrial School was built in 1908, or maybe a little earlier. I had to take it from a slightly side view as unfortunately a modern parking zone sign has been placed right outside it, ruining the straight on view. A small bright yellow hydrant marker stands against the front wall too - surely it could have been thought out a little better to allow this lovely old building to be seen in its historic state!

I haven't been able to find out anything more about it at the moment, but will do some more research. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.