Ship ahoy!

What an amazing day - a cloudless blue sky right from the start. Pretty cold though, a biting wind. 

After wasting several hours trying unsuccessfully to create a logo for 'Keep Oban Beautiful' (any competent Photoshop Elements people out there?) I thought I would go for a boat ride. I found somewhere nearby to park and walked down to the terminal where I bought a return ticket for Mull. At £6.90 it's good value for two 45 minute journeys in the sunshine! The sun disappeared after about 40 minutes, but reappeared on the way back, so although it was chilly up on deck it was absolutely glorious. While everyone was getting off and on I popped down for a hot chocolate and a chocolate ginger biscuit and was back on deck before the new arrivals came up. 

I took quite a few pictures, but chose this one of the 'Lord of the Isles', standing in for the 'Clansman' on the Colonsay run as that good ship is in for repair. In the background you can just make out 'Minna', a vessel owned by what used to be poetically known as the 'Scottish Fisheries Protection Agency' but is now renamed more prosaically 'Marine Scotland Compliance'. They'll be keeping an eye out for people catching crabs off the harbour wall, no doubt!

All-in-all a wonderful trip and I was back home by 6pm. One of the joys of living in Oban!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.