Framed by Gold

It is the last medal to be passed out at the AOG, the Alternative Olympic Games. Everett the egret was the driver of the men's 4-bird bobsled. He answered a few of my questions.

"How did you ever get your name?"

"My parents were living in Nepal when they had me, and they named me after the big mountain."

"Isn't the mountain named Everest?"

"Yes it is, but at almost 30,000 feet, my parents weren't thinking clearly...and never could get the name straight."

"What is your plan for the gold medal?"

"I'm not flying home with it...I'll tell you that! It's way too heavy. The Postal Service will get it there for me."

"You staying for the closing ceremony?"

"Pageantry is for pelicans. Heraldry is for herons. It's not for me. It's been a great experience, but I'm outta here."

17 more pictures on my Flickr page. (It was a beautiful day and night.) Thanks to Deborah (Life's Little Moments...dbifulco) for hosting the games.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/76781400@N06/albums/72157693061446214

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.