Tomatoes

Another batch of tomato slices ready for the oven. At the rate I’m going I’m in danger of running out of space in the freezer.

Edit: Here is a copy of my method.

I find the slices very useful for tossing into casseroles, sauces, mixed stir fries and pizza topping etc. I skin the tomatoes, but that is not necessary. Spread thick slices in a big oven roasting dish, lined with a silicon mat. Bake in a moderate oven, opening the door occasionally to let out the steam. They need to be dryish without getting brown, say reduce about 50% of the juice.  Takes about 30 to 60 minutes, depending on the thickness of the slices. This concentrates the flavour. When done cool them.
For free flow arrange the cooked slices in a baking tray lined with cling plastic and freeze. Then lift each slice and transfer it to a plastic bag or container. So long as they are not squashed they will remain separate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.