Letterpress 101

Dear Diary,

It was a slippery ride to the workshop yesterday morning. The roads were a bit icy but the day turned out well. Today it will be the opposite. I will probably not have any trouble getting there, it's not even snowing yet, but coming home will be another story. I am determined though.

The instructor is very nice and we learned the basics of setting type and working the presses. I printed note cards and envelopes with my address on the flap. Stationary and "calling cards" today.

The great thing about this class is that we will be able to use the presses whenever he is there demonstrating. He will be there for the annual Maple Syrup Sunday late in March so I might go then and play around. Such fun. My first husband, who passed away last year, taught letterpress as part of the industrial arts program he ran at a high school and I took a course in it at art school in 1975. Strangely, it all came back quite easily to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.