The Sultan's Palace, Muscat

Another lovely day in Muscat. I went wandering around the exterior of the Palace. So pretty, beautiful gardens, white buildings, date palms. It was a little busy today with two cruise ships in the harbour so after visiting Beit al Zubeir which is a lovely museum I headed back to the hotel for a swim.

I headed out early for dinner, and although it took longer to get there and find it than anticipated, they fitted me in before the evening rush. And it was so worth it. Frankincense infused water to start with, fresh ginger juice to drink and then slow cooked chicken and barley with a savoury date sauce. For dessert it was date cheesecake with a chocolate mousse and ruby sauce. I also decided to try the Omani coffee shot with a saffron and vanilla ice cream. They then served Omani (spiced coffee) with dates. All delicious and I'm surprisingly not feeling over full. Baitalluban.com if you're interested. All with a view over the corniche. And rosewater sprinkled on my hands when I left. The coffee and dates and the rosewater are hallmarks of true Omani hospitality.

I then bought frankincense at the souk, but apparently it's only burning, not eating grade.

I think I'll be back, soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.