Mutrah, Muscat

One of the beautiful buildings along the corniche. It's the quieter end, away from the souk. After a much needed sleep, I took the bus and wandered around the souk. A mix of things for the local Omani home and stuff for tourists. The gold and silver souk was quite large, and there were gemstone sellers too. If only I knew how to buy a stone! I had a juice in a little local cafe where one of the taxi drivers tried to get some business. More window shopping then had a coffee in a quiet little French cafe.

Next stop Qurm, an upmarket area where I wandered, got lost and got a cab to the Grand Hyatt. It's meant to be very opulent and a relaxing place for afternoon tea. After it was a long walk along the beachfront where the locals had come to picnic as there was lovely grass all the way along. There are plenty of beautiful trees, low rise, traditional style housing and friendly people.

I eventually found the Omani Heritage Gallery, a fair trade shop and bought a few little things. The woman working there was very helpful and offered to find me a driver to take me out of the city. She couldn't believe the prices I was being quoted. So, I've kept her number for next time.

She also recommended a local place for dinner. It was a cafe behind a petrol station. The waiters were surprised to see me! I sat in a family room, alone. I thought family rooms meant a mixed area, but no. Dinner was simple, and nice. The taxi who took me there was an honest man. The woman from the shop told me to pay 2 Rials maximum and he was happy with that. His rate back to the hotel was minimal too. I had a feeling I was being ripped off, and his rates convinced me of this, so I tipped him half as much.

Omanis have a reputation for being friendly and kind, and I shall contribute positively to this reputation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.