Undenominational

Actually, this chapel at Griffydam belongs to the Wesleyan Reform Union of Churches following a split from Wesleyan Methodism in 1849. But passing it on a Sunday evening at twilight reminded me of this poem by John Betjeman:

Undenominational
But still the church of God
He stood in his conventicle
And ruled with a rod.
Undenominational
The walls around him rose
The lamps within their brackets shook,
To hear the hymns he chose.
Glory, Gospel, Russell Place, Wrestling Jacob, Rock.
Saffron Walden, Safe at Home, Dorking, Plymouth Dock.
I slipped along the chalky lane that runs without the park.
I saw the lone conventicle, a beacon in the dark.
Revival ran along the hedge and made my spirit whole
When steam was on the window pane
And glory in my soul.

I sense that this chapel is active within the local community. Two ladies slipped in for the service while I was setting up the camera. It stands on a bend in the Rempstone to Ashby road. The house next door used to be a pub! The chapel has survived longer.

A lovely day despite the cold. It was warm enough to sit out in the sun at Calke Abbey Park. Len took Basil for a run while I went to look at the snowdrops. Then we had hot chocolate and popped into the bird hide to watch the myriads of tits and finches at the bird feeders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.