A not so angelic cherub

Provided you stayed in the sun and out of the wind today, it wasn't too bad at all. Lovely day in fact. 

Basil and I went to Open Church for tea and chat. I'm finding it progressively more difficult to do the walk, which used to take only ten minutes but now stretches out to thirty.

Just as we were all leaving, I noticed the sunlight falling on this cherub's head on one of the monuments. I'm a big fan of chiaroscuro. I love the way the cherub looks more like a little demon of mal intent in that lighting. Actually, the camera settings helped immensely.

No sooner home, then bundled Basil in the van to drive up to St Joseph's Tea Room next to Mount St Bernard Abbey. The abbey overlooks the Soar valley. I've realised where I should stand to get a good shot of Ives Head.

Len had told me that dogs were welcome in the tea room which enabled me to take Basil in to meet Lyn, a friend from camera club. I'd never been inside before. Wonderfully cosy and homely, with good plain home cooking. I ordered carrot and coriander soup with gluten free bread.

Service is a bit on the slow side. Lyn and I were in no hurry.

Extra is an intentional movement of crocuses and snowdrops growing in a neighbour's garden. I like the way they're all standing so erect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.