On the Way Home

I was driving home along the back road from Ashby towards Hathern and Rempstone. It was sunset. Clear in Birmingham, but becoming increasingly more misty towards Shepshed.

I think I must have been blessed to get this scene. Beautiful sunset colours in the sky and creeping mist on the ground when I stopped in the layby just short of Belton. It's a very appropriate scene given that I had been at the RPS DiG meeting in Birmingham where Irene Froy was giving one of her last talks.

If you know of Irene Froy, then you will know that she is noted for her technique to create pastel landscapes out of her photography. Perhaps I should work on this shot attempting to recreate her style.

DiG AGM at Smethwick Photographic Society. Was delighted to meet Margaret and Maurice and Paula and Guy, plus Wendy who is otherwise known as Viewpoint on Blipfoto.

The fog was very dense when I drove over this morning. Barely 50m visibility in places but it began to thin out once I hit the M6 and had cleared completely by the time I reached Smethwick.

Coda: the following day I attempted what I hope will resemble an Irene Froy treatment. View the result here. I'd like to have seen a bit more colour in the sky, to be honest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.