Ingrained Direction...

When I lived in the Mighty 'Wa (Alloa for the non-locals) I used to take a specific route from my house (I can call it that in this context as it was at the time my place of residence. It is in fact TFP Mum and Dad's House) to the town and back again on my skateboard. The route was meticulously planned, refined and optimised over several repeat journeys not for speed or distance efficiency but for interestingness of terrain.


o Down the street, using the 2 driveways about 5 houses down as they had a wee channel to get across.

o Up the main Stirling to Alloa entrance way not because it was of much interest but because it led to...

o ...the slightly imperfect section of pavement down towards the Livingstone Memorial which has 2 paving stones particularly out of alignment which when hit at just the right speed, leaning forward and unweighting yourself just enough, can throw you and the skateboard up a good couple of inches with out any apparent means.

o The manual(wheelie) across the tarmac across from the top of Ludgate.

o The TownHall steps gap and another pavement construction imperfection forming a small flyoff.

o Down Mar Street to get to the driveway ollie up to small wall by the BetaVet.

o Up Ludgate (particularly smoothly tarmacced street) ollieing over the tarmac patches from old utility roadworkings.

o Up to the top of the West End Park for a big downhill run to see how far you can get without pushing.

o Stop off for a wee scoot about the Mormen Church carpark or the old Grange Highschool (New St John's Primary).

o Back up to Mum and Dad TFP's street with a last wee trick over the driveway channel again on the way back up.


What is bizarre is that I sometimes start unconciously wandering the exact same round route if I find myself walking down/up into Alloa town centre for any particular reason even though it isn't suited as a walking route.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes on the picture
==============
Regular viewers of the Tractor Factory may notice this as very similar to something a couple of days ago. It's not often that I get to witness the Forth with calm enough waters for these reflections. I therefore pass onto you to experience as best my wee bliptool will realize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.