Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Look what came to visit!

I know, more elephant! But this was unbelievable! I am sitting on this very hot afternoon by the plunge pool having a dip every now and then to keep cool. I watched this elephant forage along the river bank when all of a sudden there he is across from me and this 5 ft wide pool - looking for a drink and more branches! He could have reached out and touched me with his trunk! Fascinating to watch (I was very quiet) and even got some sketches! Then he moved along to the front of our tent for awhile... Just couldn't pass up this blip! His name is "Yale"

In the morning we visited a little village about a 45 min boat ride away. A couple of our safari guides are from there. An amazing cultural experience- I will say more about it tomorrow as that is a travel day back to Jo-burg. The little kids were not in school on Sunday so followed us all over- everyone had a kid by the hand!

And as if that wasn't enuf, a few of us went on a night game drive with spotlights. Our guide spotted lions sleeping on an island in the river so off we went thru the water to within 20 feet!!! It included a roaring contest which I swear rocked our truck!

There's lots to show - yes Kendall it's impossible to pick one photo! But for those who are asking I promise to put a flicker show together soon after I am home! Thanks for looking-sorry I can't respond to all right now - I can barely manage to post the blip:-). Because of the Internet and where I need to find it etc.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.