clean your lens

I wear glasses and wear hearing aids.. a sign of the aging process. Sometimes a good friend or more often my spouse, gently advises me that perhaps I should remove my specs and clean the glass! I had not noticed the general build up of fingerprints, smudges and general detritis and was looking through a blurred lens.. just like this windscreen in today's blip.
I recall a great quote attributed to Alan Alda at his daughter's graduation. "Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in a while or the light won't come in".
So it is with my glasses - but so too it is with our world views. How we think and act towards others who are different is mediated through that lens. Don't let our prejudices obscure our view so we can see the good in others.
Generosity is a great lens cleaner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.