Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Blowin' in the wind

My new bike was taken out for it's inaugural ride and as appropriate for any christening I have to think of a name for it. Any suggestions? It is a girly bike so it probably should have a ladies name.

I rode down to the breakwall at Nobbys to catch the waves and wind action and waited for this ship to leave to give a bit of perspective. I suspect the seasick remedies will be out for this journey.

Now a few things I learned from my trip today:

1. Put the helmet on your head before you start off.
2. Remember to sound your bell on shared paths so you don't scare the lunch time joggers.
3. When you think, "this is easy, I am not having to pedal" it means that the 70 kph wind gusts are pushing you along and you will have a bloody tough time of it on the way back.
4. When you are having a bloody tough time of it on the way back, remember to keep your mouth closed near the beach to avoid getting a mouth full of sand. Oh yes, it will collect in your ears too despite the helmet. I am still finding sand in odd places now.
5. Although it has a "comfort" seat, do not necessarily expect the seat to give you any comfort on a longer ride or until your bum gets used to it.

And to help you name the bike, here is a photo of it. I did NOT throw it down in a tantrum, it was simply that the winds were too strong for it to stand upright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.