sunset wood

I liked this shot enough to oust some wonderful scenes I saw today (in extras). Most of my work travel gives little flexibility to see the places around me but when I can I try to plan time for little excursions. Today was a such a day. I left Amsterdam in the afternoon to drive for Brussels but I planned to break the journey with an evening stopover at a Dutch National Park, the Loonse and Drunense Dunes. Who would expect that there was a desert in the middle of The Netherlands but here it is. This part of the Netherlands used to be under the sea 10,000 years ago and is consequently a very sandy area full of pine trees with real sand dunes many miles from the sea. The landscape is astonishing and the pine woods enchanting. I enjoyed a couple of hours of fresh  COLD air.
The price to pay is a longer journey tomorrow and a very busy day lined up before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.