White-out

It was a frigid -5C this morning, and I was understandably somewhat reluctant to leave the warmth of the house. But Pete nagged me to brave the elements, pointing out that I'd been wishing for snow for so long, that it would be perverse of me not to get out and photograph it.

There was very little traffic as I walked down to Thorpe Hall, and once my fingers had acclimatized it was quite pleasant walking through the gentle snow. After photographing the hall and several dog walkers, I contemplated turning for home. But I was having fun, so decided to carry on to Longthorpe Fish Ponds, despite the snow becoming more persistent.

About this point I realised that although it had been OK walking west, I was eventually going to have to turn east and walk into the biting wind. Despite this I continued on to the Rowing Lake and walked back along it straight into the teeth of a blizzard. Although it was decidedly unpleasant at the time, the sharp spicules of icy snow stinging my eyes, it was also strangely exhilarating. Every now and then I stopped to take some photos, turning my back to the wind to avoid snow being blown on the lens. 

It's been hard to choose some images to blip, but if anyone's interested I've put an album called 'The beast from the east' on Flickr. It certainly showed more teeth and claws today, but I think we've probably seen the worst of the heavy snow in Peterborough - icicles tomorrow? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.