Tramway Ticket Office

Saltburn by the Sea.

I'm not sure now if I simply failed to add this yesterday or whether it failed to upload properly. I remember writing words!!

It was an absolutely glorious day for with just a bit of haze over the sea. In the end I opted to blip the ticket office for the cliffside tramway - this is what it looks like from the top.

Beach walking was very popular along this long stretch of firm sand between Saltburn and Redcar with many people out enjoying the sun and sea. We walked as far as Marske and then let ourselves get waylaid in the old graveyard while we looked for `memento mori' headstones. Unfortunately these stones are badly eroded as they get the full force of the weather from the sea. (The last time we visited Saltburn the rain was coming in horizontal!)

A brisk walk back along the sand left us with enough time to look at the Victorian arcade fronts on the shops and to indulge in a Panini for a very late lunch.

Arriving back at the cottage, the late afternoon light was stunning with not a cloud in the sky. Inevitably I was out with my camera again for another photo-shoot of sheep and landscape.
p.s. now I've written these words I know for certain that I wrote it yesterday - I remember looking for a link to a photograph that showed the unique layout of Saltburn from the air - it was a purpose built Victorian town which took advantage of the newly built railway to attract visitors to the seaside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.