Shelter

Did the morning walk in the shelter of the forest in Ottobeuren. The paths are now trodden firm with packed snow and very slippery.

We were just setting off as an elderly gent came by struggling to hold his largish very sturdy, half bloodhound looking dog. We were on the high path and it was clear he wanted to avoid us and took the low path.

As one might have expected, at the halfway point as we went down to the low path, the others came towards us. He put his dog on the lead as did I with Luna and moved right to the side to let him pass - a very wide track, four metres probably.

I was bending down holding Flash and Luna, when he passed behind me and then heard a cry and crash and the dog was then in amidst my two, so let them go and there was no problem. Grabbed his dogs lead and then went to attend the owner lying moaning and groaning. He did manage to get up and dust himself down, just a minor scratch on his hand and clearly shocked. I asked him ten times if I could help, should I call someone etc but he said he was OK. Clearly very embarrassed. I did keep looking back over my shoulder to check he was OK until he disappeared out of sight.

It could well be he was dog walking for someone else, so I don't want to prejudge but it amazes me how many owner/dog combinations there appear to be that are clearly not suited. I'm not even talking about being well trained - our Luna is not a model of obedience.

After that, walking alongside the stream was surprised there was no ice. We have only had one day in the last few weeks where the temperature got above 0°C. Flash even went in for a drink, Luna wanted t but only if I threw in a stick - I didn't.

In Ottobeuren met Farmer Franz in the supermarket carpark "You've got lots of foxes around your house" he said. "See them every day".  It is getting quite bad - seems we have about five circling the house. One I saw as we left for the walk, and on the way home 20 metres from our drive, saw it or another walking directly on the edge of the road. If I could have opened the car door, I could have stroked him. Poor things are desperate to find mice. Or our chickens. We let the girls out in the morning but bring them back at midday, that is the most dangerous time.

This evening spotted two close by but it was 6:00 pm and the light made a good photo impossible. The temperature is getting warmer and showed -7°C but said with windchill -14°C. I didn't believe it so did the walk alongside river and fields.

How wrong I was. It was icy. The Blip is of the very full and fast running river at a small waterfall. Again light was poor but it shows how much shelter the forest gives where the meandering stream has no ice whatsoever and hear the river is only open at such points.

Forecast says Friday 0°C, Saturday +6°C, Sunday +10°C and I guess then the flood warnings will start as the thaw sets in. Not looking forward to next weeks dog walks.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.