First day of Spring?!

Awoke to an unexpected white world, the snow wasn’t due until later in the morning. The garden was full of hungry, and thirsty, birds waiting for their breakfast. By the time I’d finished filling all the feeders and removing the ice from the water bowls, I’d lost all feeling in my hands.

Meteorologically, today is the first day of Spring, but as the temperature didn’t rise above -4℃ all day, with that persistent windchill of -11℃, it certainly hasn’t felt like Spring! Since Robbie had his breakfast, it has snowed all day, with Storm Emma whipping the snow into mini drifts around the garden. We’re on the edge of a red warning zone but haven’t had things as bad as others. But the local news has warned us that there’s worse to come overnight and tomorrow, and that people shouldn’t go out on the road after 8pm. Luckily I managed to find a gap in the weather this afternoon to get to the post office with my passport application. I don’t have any plans as yet, but a girl can dream...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.