Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fashion Avenue

G left home today armed with 48 cupcakes decorated in red, white and blue and Raffles (Pooh Bear in school uniform) went along for the ride as well! It is International Day.

I was very pleased to get a few niggling jobs done, one was to replace an LED light bulb which didn't last the 25,000 hours it should have, and the other to finally change the only remaining bulb in the living room to an energy efficient one.

I also sorted through more things to take to the car boot sale tomorrow, and in the process came across some precious family pictures of all five of us, and a large envelope containing enlargements my Dad had organised of some of the best pictures I have taken.

G came home early, so we headed to Dubai Mall. The wonderful bank I have been with for 31 years can't seem to get their act together, and as a result, I have lost the ability to get money from an ATM machine, so first stop was the bank. Amazingly, it took nearly 45 minutes despite no-one being ahead of me in the two queues I had to be in!

We then headed to the fashion section of the mall which is fantastic and very posh. It has butterflies suspended from the ceiling, thick pile carpet, and the smartest loos in the mall! Then over to Sharaf DG to look at phones. I am coming closer to the time when I have to switch over to something more universal (like an Android phone) and we spent quite a lot of time looking at the Nokia 5.

We had a look at some of the other techy things as well including a camera strap for when you go out for hours on end with a DSLR and you want to ease the strain on your back and neck. The highlight of the day though had to be testing a Hasselblad digital camera. It looked big and bulky (!) and typical Hasselblad (It only costs £7,000!) but boy did it take amazing images. I never knew there was a sensor with ISO 256,000!  To record the event, G took a picture of me holding it.

Good afternoon/evening spent getting everything we want to take to the car boot sale ready to go out the door. I am really looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.