Bouquet Of Birds

Thicker blanket of snow this morning. Before I did anything else I washed out the ice from the birds' terracotta dish and filled it with water. I don't have feeders but was concerned for our feathered friends when I saw Blackie scratching around so prepared a smorgasbord for them on a roofing tile and balanced it on some aluminium steps. 

When I peered into number thirteeen I thought at first the ginger fur was Reynard's but it was a pair of muntjacs. I love that many different animals and birds use our disused glasshouses as a haven in weather like today's. No sun at all, brutally cold.

I flushed a bouquet of pheasants, yes that's one of the collective nouns for them. Others are bevey, nye and covey. None flew. Three of them trotted one way and the beautiful hen bird in my pic strode the other. Her camouflage doesn't work quite so well in the snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.