Where?!

Well Gerta may not be thinking the same as me, but she encapsulates my feeling about the morning - where is our snow? ! Plymouth has it, Falmouth has it, but the Tamar valley not a flake! We do have the bitter cold - all water troughs frozen, the tap with water from the underground bore frozen and various buckets and watering cans on my plot frozen. I took up a flask of hot water to melt the hen's bowl! Actually my lagging with straw and carpet the previous evening had worked! The ground is also frozen - no more digging for me! Strangely it didn't feel that cold, I was up there a couple of hours, playing with the hens and breaking the ice on the buckets for the wild birds, covering my rhubarb! Gerta flew up onto me and then into the nesting box as I was cleaning it and refreshing the straw - she is so inquisitive! Greta was inside laying an egg!
On returning home it started to snow! WooHoo! Then the sun came and it stopped. So it continued for the next couple of hours - enough to settle in the plant pots but that was about it. Every time it started to snow I got so excited only to be let down. We are supposed to get a load overnight and during the day - I'm not going to hold my breath! 
Just for mariB - here is a link  to the shanty coop! Front and back view! It's no   thing of beauty but hopefully it will keep the girls somewhere to shelter during the day and the coop will keep them warm at night! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.