si_b

By si_b

Stuck ...

... but not me !

Went out this morning to try to retrieve my car from the garage and made it 90% of the way there, until this issue. The road had only been 1/2 cleared ( e.g. one lane of two open ) allowing for us to take turns to pass. Unfortunately drifting snow, and the low slung nature of this convertible meant that there wasn't enough ground clearance / traction to continue and the one lane became no lanes. 

In the distance, you can see the car I was driving - it's the first in the queue in the background. I'd already decided to call it a day and head for home, but I thought that I'd pop over and see if I could help out at all - not least because I had a snow-shovel in the car - three other guys came with me [ and a lot more people stayed in the warmth of their cars, for you all, you're welcome for the work we did on your behalf ... ] and we spent about 25 minutes digging, pushing, plotting, digging, pushing, cursing, digging ... and making slow, but steady progress a metre or two at a time. 

Then the cavalry turned up, and accomplished in 5 minutes what would have taken us _hours_ to do. Net result though unstuck car and open road. 

My compatriots and I walked back along the cleared path nice and slowly, allowing those who didn't help drive slowly along behind us :-P

Conversely, having done my driveway first, and then a small stretch of country road - I no longer need to go to the gym today !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.