Help

My carport, the car is there somewhere, now where did I put that snow shovel?

Every plumber and builder that I have called has told me their worries and troubles, how far behind they are because of the last few days of snow, how they've dealt with customers, what they've said to them, how busy they are, how snowed in they are, what happened with this job and that job, right down to how they told Mr Blogg they were not getting ladders out to get on his roof today. Meanwhile, swamped in troubles of my own, I finally get a few words in edgeways and I say, okay, I understand, I just rang for a quote to fit a multi fuel burner? I've been without any heating at all since the 23rd of February, can you help?
The response, Oh well it will be about 2 to 3 weeks before we can do that! 
(I wonder wether to barter a work exchange for the £20 counselling session he's just had on the phone and decide to take a deep breath instead) Others have said 3 to 4 weeks, suddenly Im aware of this involuntary deflation of my spirit going on. However...

There is ONE young man who has given me a tiny glimmer of hope and I am waiting with baited breath for a call back from him. It's not straightforward (well it wouldn't be would it) but at least he didn't give me all of his own problems first and actually listened to mine. 
(I listen to everyone's problems most days of my life, its part of my work and I love my work, but I don't think Im meant to be doing that whilst ringing for help myself

It's not often I have a little rant but I think I just ranted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.