Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

True Grit

With the official advice being still not to travel unless necessary, no public transport running in the area, all schools and many public buildings remaining closed, I decided to have a lazy day. I even stayed in bed much longer than usual. However, I became aware of a scraping sound outside and reckoned my next door neighbours had decided to clear their path of the build-up of snow.

As the scraping sound continued, I decided to get up and have a peek outside. What I saw was, in fact, a whole group of neighbours who had started to clear the road of snow. My immediate next-door neighbours had even cleared my path as well as their own!

Within a few minutes I had joined them and, together, we managed to clear our road down to where it meets the main road, which had been gritted by Falkirk Council overnight. It took over a dozen of us about two hours to shift the snow and scatter grit on the road - thankfully the Council had filled our grit bin at the start of the week. So much for my planned lazy day!

The road, and by afternoon the pavements, are now clear (for the moment!) However, there are large mounds of shovelled snow where each of our gardens used to be (see extra). Wonder how long they will take to melt?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.