Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Dewi Sant

Happy St David's Day! / Dydd Gŵyl Dewi Hapus!

Here in Central Scotland, on the first meteorological day of spring, yesterday's Met Office 'Red' alert for snow has been replaced by an 'Amber' one. Nevertheless the advice against all but essential travel remains in place and we are already receiving advice that many schools and public buildings will remain closed tomorrow too. It's still not clear what the position will be as regards public transport - probably too early to tell, as the snow just keeps on falling.

I have thought about going for a walk at several points during the day, but each time I ponder it, the wind blows a little stronger and the snow falls a little heavier. This is not a day for going anywhere!

Rather than post another picture of my snow-filled garden or street, I thought I'd post one of some daffodils growing in a pot in the house - a wee homage to St David, Patron Saint of Wales, whose day is celebrated today.

We were given a pot of daffodil bulbs at church a couple of weeks ago - see my 'extra' from then - and they have fairly blossomed in the warmth of a centrally-heated house. Much better, I suspect, had they been left outside.

Take care, and stay safe out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.