Relief and Gratitude

They arrived. Came through the gates, eventually, at about 3am, but the important thing is, they are here, safely, after an eventful journey. 

After not much sleep, had a wander round the Alfama (old part of Lisbon), really getting gentrified - exciting, but sad, too. Can you believe this whole arch is trompe-l'oeil? 

Found an excellent coffee shop, which also bakes its own sourdough products - Danish, not Portuguese, though, but loved it... would have been my Blip, I'm sure, but at that point, my camera refused to take photos - the shutter release goes down far enough to focus, but no further... have tried all sorts, to no avail. What will I do without a camera?? And just passed on my old bridge camera...

Anyway, pastéis in Belém, and lunch at the Brazilian place in Évora; now sitting in companionable silence in our wood-fire heated room, trying to work up the energy to finalize the day... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.