Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Carousel

The finches were on a bird feeder carousel today! Very strong winds. I kept waiting for them to swing around again to get a shot of faces...

I'm going to say the red ones are house finches, although I have a devil of a time distinguishing house finch males from purple finch males. The females are easier and the one on the left at the back here looks like a house finch female to me. Help if you can! Opinions welcome!

The others - the yellowish ones - are American goldfinches.

The wind gusts today made for a thrill filled and aggravating drive over to The Wildlife Center and back. I had to turn around a couple of times and find another route because of trees in the road. And then at the top of Afton Mountain I nearly blew off the road! White knuckle time. Also, our generator has been running since about 2:00 AM this morning. On the plus side, it's been a sunny day. We've not been treated to the rain and/or snow accompanying the nor'easter further up the east coast.

The Husband, who was opposed to my spending the money on the whole house generator seven years ago, agrees with me that it was the best *bad decision* I've ever made over his objections. HAHAHAHA!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.