SILLY SATURDAY IN SAIGON!

I apologise that this journal entry is partly about what happened yesterday, but I wanted to document our return train journey so hope you will bear with me!

We arrived at the station at Phan Thiet in good time to catch our train because, of course, the traffic from the beach isn’t a patch on the traffic in Saigon. We weren’t sure what to do so asked some young people, who thankfully spoke English and they said the train waiting was going to Saigon.  We were the first ones in our coach and annoyingly one of our booked seats was broken so probably for the first time in my life I can say I was “laid back”!!

We saw quite a few children coming through the station, all with suitcases, then they were lined up and helped up onto the train and guess where they were?  Yes, in our coach. Interestingly, although there was a mix of boys and girls - about 18 in all and most were about 6 years old, there were only 2 male teachers and the man we spoke to said he ran a camp at the beach for them but they were now going back to their parents in Saigon and told us they all attended the French International School.  They were very well behaved - but one little boy was moved to sit opposite us because he was misbehaving. However, once the train started he soon fell asleep and it was then obvious he wasn’t the ringleader!

It was strange to hear the children singing Jingle Bells in French, in March, but of course, I could be wrong and it could have been another song with the same tune - quite appropriate for friends in the UK though!

I won’t give you too many details but you can probably imagine my dilemma when the door to the very small toilet burst open because the lock wasn’t very good - so I had to press my head against the door to keep it closed - there are NO photographs!!

We arrived in Saigon after a 4 hour train journey and our room this time is on the 17th Floor, with wonderful views, as you can imagine - so I have put a photograph in as an extra.  The journey back was even hairier than previous car journeys, though - I'm sorry I can't upload the video I took because you would be able to see the craziness of the traffic - although I have put a collage in as an extra.  The driver was very young, and he was amazing - the young lady who was our guide, just kept apologising and saying "It's rush hour!"  I must confess to keeping my eyes closed for some of the journey.

This morning, Saturday, we have received lots of Whatsapp messages to say that the UK is gridlocked because of the snow and icy conditions - fortunately, the friends from Church we are hoping to meet next Friday, got away on 1st March, but their first flight was cancelled.  However, Amy told me they were extremely fortunate, as many had to wait for days for a new flight.

I am feeling slightly "under the weather" - think I may be "fruited out" so have decided to have a quiet morning just reading and perhaps even sleeping, as I didn't sleep that well.  I'm sure this feeling will soon pass, and is probably due to the food, not drinking enough water and the heat - our bodies aren't used to the high 30s!

Jules arrived, as promised, at 9.30 to collect Mr. HCB and take him to Phatty's, a Sports Bar, where apparently, you can watch any kind of sport and have a drink too.  He said that he realised that I wasn't "into" bars, so having reassured him that I was quite happy to stay on my own, off they went - but not before I took a photograph, explaining that (a) I wasn't very good at selfies and (b) they could pull funny faces, as it was Silly Saturday, after all!

It was great to see them walking off together, chatting - no doubt about football - and it's good that we were able to pick things up just as if we had seen Jules last week - the seven years absence have just melted away!

So here we all are - Mr. HCB is wearing his Father's Day tee shirt that Jules sent him last year and of course, his trademark hat.  He did start to take this off, but I reminded him that he is known by his hat - just as I am known by my pink robe!  

Jules and Mr. HCB have now gone off, so I am quietly resting in our room with the air conditioning going full blast - and occasionally thinking of all my friends in the UK who are coping with snow and sub-zero temperatures.  Stay safe and before you ask, we are quite happy to have missed the snow, thank you very much.  

Many thanks again for your kind comments, stars and hearts - apologies for not commenting but I'm sure you understand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.