oot and aboot

Today was going to be the day of the Big Brew in Dunscore, our celebration of all things Fairtrade and local, with over 20 stalls. Just as well that it has been postp[oned until the 17th, as the weather is not showing any signs of improving - as you can see from the photo, it's snowing again.

We are well-stocked with food up at home but our monthly delivery of coffee beans had not got through, so I went into town on the bus. This was the first day since Wednesday that the buses had been running on our route, and apparently the roads further up towards Dunscore were rather dodgy so I'm glad that the bus driver was a braver man than me. He was swathed in blankets from the waist down, trying to stay warm.

I was pleased to find that coffee beans were on special offer in M&S as it is Fairtrade Fortnight :-)

I filled my rucksack with fruit and veg at Lidl and browsed the bookshops. The pavements were pretty icy and I heard one man tell his wife to "walk like a penguin".

Back home on the bus - a different driver was not keen to go down our way but was persuaded after hearing that it had been done earlier in the opposite direction. He said "I'll blame you if I get stuck further on" but I said he'd have to find me first :-)

Jess and D were at the bus stop to meet me and it was lovely to find on my return that Sarah had made soup and a sourdough loaf for our lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.