South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Re-discovery 3

There’s been a bit of a gap in my re-discovery ‘series’ but this photo brought back memories of a holiday with friends in the Isle of Wight in 1987. The little girl walking with us is their oldest child and this was taken on the beach at Ryde. She sadly lost her father, whom she was very close to, before the age of 18 and has had other sadness in her life too - but has a strong faith. She was such a lovely little girl and the first child that I really became close to and knew from birth. The next year we had our son Paul and they used to play together when they were still kids (although he was closer to her brother who was nearer his age). Memories!

Had a strange experience this morning by the way. I opened the kitchen blind and there was a rook sitting on the fence staring at me. It did so for a few seconds and I held its gaze, then it flew down into the next door garden. I told my son about it, because I wondered if it was the rook who had been rescued from our roof nearly two weeks ago as its feathers looked rather ruffled. My son then told me that he had looked out of his bedroom window yesterday and a rook with ruffled feathers was sitting on the shed roof and seemed to be looking up at him. Maybe just a coincidence, but who knows? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.