Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Favourite drinking place

This is one of Callum's favourite drinking places - he has a few. He has kidney disease and his kidneys can no longer concentrate his urine, so he gets thirsty. There's no real treatment for kidney disease, it's just a matter of managing it, and diet is the main way of doing that. However,  Callum doesn't eat enough of the renal diet food to maintain his weight, so I don't give him it anymore. It has become more difficult to find food that he will eat, but it's important to coax him as losing weight has a very bad effect on kidneys. It's been good having a week's holiday as I've been able to spend more time with him and I'm really not looking forward to going back to work on Monday. I hope I'll be able to continue coming home in my lunch break to feed him then - I need to see if I can dig my car out of the snow tomorrow and hopefully recce my route to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.