Madness

It's Madness I thought - a 'Grey Day' but an 'Obsession' so going 'One Step Beyond' on the 'Coldest Day',  I headed to the owls by a circuitous route!

Camera not even out of the boot/trunk (for you guys over there) I spotted a shortie coursing over the fields. Gearing up into the thermals I'd stashed in the car I was 'Fascinated' to see if it would reappear and it did.

Silently passing over again in the cold, fog and wind I felt 'Two hearts' beating alone but together in the wilderness that was the Cotswolds this afternoon with the snow and ice just making it eerie.

He said, 'Disappear', 'It's MY life', but I couldn't just, 'Take it or leave it' there, however it was absolutely freezing and icy with the wind gusts that blew the snow into drifts. 'It must be love'! Short of a, 'Cardiac Arrest' I felt at one stage I had gone 'One step Beyond' and called it a day.

Driving my 4x4 I took the wrong route home and on a single track lane met a snow drift and that was that. I had no choice but to back up the incline with no room to turn with snow higher than the window because of the plough earlier in the week. Wheels spun and I tried time and time again to get back up the slope. Telling myself to, 'Relax' knowing I had to do it skidding 18" from a wall and a drop, I manoeuvred the car back up the slope and the lane. Relief - well oh yes!

Retracing my steps back to the field I saw him again on the slopes - 'Don't forget me when I'm Gone,' he said, 'Missing You..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.