Five things

By fivethings

Archie

1. Working late to clear my desk, well the six years worth of 'filing' that is stuffed in every available space around me. I run out of bags and take that as a sign.

2. I stock up before weaving through the jakey gauntlet of union street at central station. Some nights are particularly bammy. Tonight is one of those nights. I get picked off and before I know it I'm talking to Archie.

3. Archie has been chucked by his girlfriend who has gone to her mums with all the money. Archie needs his bus fair. He's a millionaire and hasn't been a bus for 20 years. He is - admittedly - drunk and everyone he's asked so far has pegged him as a begger.

4. So, the upshot of all this is that I help him out and he is so grateful he tells me he has felt like a nine year old - scared and helpless bu that perhaps it does everyone good to feel that way. He thanks me a lot and we part ways. Maybe he does need it for a bus and maybe he has learnt a little about himself and his fellow man.

5. Overcome by my Archieing I leave my shopping on the train. My generousity really knows no bounds this evening.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.