Plus ça change...

By SooB

Top of the world

Up early (ie, before 9...) to pack and clean the apartment.  Then off up into the mountains for a final day's skiing.  My boots, sadly, were not really up to the job.  Having not hired boots for so long, I had forgotten how important it is to have a good tight fit around your feet - I was just concentrating on how my shins felt.  So, I ended up with boots that were far too loose and - no matter how much I tightened the calf buckles, my feet slipped around inside the boot and I couldn't get good edges or ski with any control.

TallGirl was feeling a bit below par, so she mostly stuck with slow me, while the boys zoomed off down reds.  At lunch time I shoved any spare clothing anyone had inside my socks, and that seemed to help a bit.  Probably because of all that, TallGirl and I tired early and headed down to the car (down horribly icy steep stuff since we managed to get too low for the bubble lift) and - with the joy of walking in normal shoes - had a celebratory coffee and a cookie (most of which ended up in my hair in a way I still don't understand).

Once the boys arrived back (with CarbBoy still sporting the unzipped jacket look despite it being minus quite a lot of degrees) we had a quick stop in a supermarket for some rioja and chorizo, then started the long drive home.

Pizzas, telly, bed.  All exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.