Plus ça change...

By SooB

One of those days

Lovely gloriously warm spring day today.  Lunch outside with a nice chilled rosé, and gardening in a vest.

But before all that, off up the road to exercise Mr B's car and pick up the bunnies, who seem to have been as spoilt as ever at their holiday home.  Once they were delivered back to the kids, off to the market for the usual collection of delicious things, plus some plants I couldn't resist in the sunshine.

Then lunch and gardening.  CarbBoy helped with weeding, and washed all the houseplants out on the terrace, and I got on with digging a new bed - for potatoes.  Meanwhile, our new neighbours in the old banqueting hall next door (ie, joined to our house) were removing all the A-frames from their building.  The frames had suffered a bit of water damage at one end, but for some reason they have decided to just take them all out.  And the huge lengthways beams too.  But they haven't put anything in to replace them....  So, with every crash and smash we held our breaths waiting for the whole building to crash down, probably taking part of our house with it....  (It is still standing, but we don't know how.)

Just when I was thinking of packing in the digging in favour of sitting on the terrace with a cool drink, the day took a turn for the worse when I managed to stand on a huge metal spike (rusty, obviously) which pierced straight through my boot and up into my foot.  Unbelievably, it had managed to go just between my big toe and the one next to it - so damage is much less than it might have been.  Still, there was a whole washing, scraping, wiping and spraying thing to do, and some snipping off to get at hidden dirt.  Gross.  Mr B is now convinced I will get sepsis since we couldn't find any TCP.  He wasn't satisfied that any of the French substitutes were causing me enough pain to be doing any good!  (I'm more just trying to figure out when I last had a tetanus jab...)

Dinner, too much VEEP, and bed.

There's a backblipped snow scene for yesterday if that's your kind of thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.