Ixxxy

By Ixxxy

Early fireworks

Very early this year! Our big, local display is always on the Monday of half term. It''s always referred to as Ebley fireworks, as when I was young and went while visiting my aunts and grandmother, it was held in the grounds of the NCH children's home in Ebley. This rather magnificent building is now flats and is surrounded by some slightly better than average new estate housing (very small gardens).
The display is now held in the playing fields of Marling School and is watched from Rodborough Common above by those not wanting to get down and dirty in the fair ground ie those with small children and little money. It gets very pally up there with people sharing their flasks and nibbles, and then down the hill to the Prince Albert for hot chocolate.
I had been round the house earlier, looking for things to blip, as I had spent most of the day sorting out my boyfriend's website for his guitar-making business. I had a nice one of an egg timer made out of an old woollen mill spindle and was quite happy till I heard the glass rattling and the sound of cannons ricocheting around the valley.
This is my first attempt at taking photos of fireworks and they were all s**t. I was not helped by standing on my daughter's bed, craning out of the velux window. I rather like this shot as you can see the outline of next door's chimney and the tall (Cotswold stone) chimney on the industrial estate on the left. Many of the shots had a war-time feel as they included no actual fireworks - just lots of smoke and distant light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.