Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

For Your Consideration

I suspect I’m far too late to influence the Academy Award voters with this bit of shameless lobbying... but, here’s hoping for a Best Picture award for ‘Lady Bird’ at the Oscars later! (T-shirt courtesy of the good folks at Girls On Tops www.etsy.com/uk/shop/GirlsOnTops )

I’m a huge fan of Greta Gerwig and her oeuvre but I only actually managed to see the film this afternoon. It was absolutely wonderful, of course, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Greta to get the nod for Best Director and/or Best Original Screenplay. I’ll also be cheering Saoirse Ronan and Laurie Metcalf on in the Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress categories respectively.

I’ll also be hoping for Dee Rees to take home the Best Adapted Screenplay award and Rachel Morrison to win the Cinematography award for their work on ‘Mudbound’.

Let’s hear it for the Sisterhood!

And, on that note, here’s a new song from Tracey Thorn (a previous Blip subject of mine https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2045842147122348197 ) - it’s called ‘Sister’, and it’s bloomin’ brilliant! www.youtube.com/watch?v=5A-XyMzTSWc

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.