Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z Food Challenge: S is for Samoa

Oh no!!! Disaster at Food Challenge HQ!!

Having found this delicious recipe for Panipopo (Sweet Coconut Buns), I was devastated when I ended up burning my buns!! Especially as I was really looking forward to eating them - I loved the idea of having a slightly sweet bread bun, where the sweetness is enhanced by being baked in a pool of coconut milk. Once served, you end up with a slightly crisp bun on top, with the bottom of the bun swimming in creamy coconut. It sounded indulgent and tropical, and I fantasised about being on a warm, golden beach somewhere, squishing the sand between my toes while I squashed the panipopo in my mouth.

So, determined to realise my tropical fantasy, the first batch were thrown away and a second batch commenced! It made for a time consuming and long day but I'm really pleased I persevered as my second batch of buns turned out much better.

If you're a fan of coconut and sweet bread, I definitely recommend giving this recipe, which was easy to follow, a go - your tastebuds will thank you for it.

Thailand is the foodie destination for tomorrow's challenge...I'm thinking something lighter and savoury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.