Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: R is for Russia

Despite loving beetroot and loving soup, I realised the other week that I've never had Borshch, despite it sounding so very appetising. I think it's because I never tend to order soup when I go out to eat.

So I finally decided it was time to make it, and when better than as the dish for Russia!

I also served the Borshch with some Piroshski. When I was younger, we had an elderly Russian neighbour named Ms. Artimiff. I remember being a bit afraid of her, as she seemed so stern. But I always loved when she joined our family for Christmas lunch as she always brought a big bowl of Piroshski, which my brother and I devoured.

I thought it fitting to use this recipe for the Piroshski, since the young blogger got it from her Russian Grandma. And hey, if an 11 year old can cook 'em, surely I can too, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.