Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: Q is for Qatar

Another night where there wasn't a whole lot of countries to choose from for my challenge. In fact, Qatar was the only one and there's not a lot of Qatari recipes on the internet.

But I did find this lovely one for Thareed, a lamb and vegetable stew that is plated on top of thin, crispy bread. I used strips of roti, which I crisped up in the oven before putting them at the bottom of this casserole dish. The bread really absorbs the yummy flavours of the stew and there's a lovely tart lemon taste to this dish. No wonder this was apparently a favourite dish of the prophet Muhammad.

I also attempted to make Algeemaat, sticky dough balls (recipe is on the same webpage) for dessert but the recipe made a very wet dough, so I had to put a lot more flour in and then left it to rise overnight. So looks like it'll be dessert for tomorrow night, when we eat some Russian fare for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.