Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: P is for Portugal

...and for Pasteis de Nata!!

Another letter of the alphabet where I knew at the very beginning of the challenge what I would be making.

Pasteis de Nata have got to be one of my fave foods in the whole world. They are so delicioussssss...

I spent my 30th birthday in Lisbon and all I wanted to do on the day was go to Belem and eat the best Portuguese Custard Tarts at Pasteis de Belem. Absolutely heavenly ... I bought a few extra to take home in a doggy bag and apparently at the end of a long night of beer tasting and bar hopping, I wolfed the whole lot down at 6am on returning to the hostel (I sadly don't remember).

Anyway, I felt it would be sacrilege to choose any other country or recipe. I definitely need a few more practice attempts to get these bad boys better (my pastries were too small and there wasn't enough custard filling) but the recipe I followed is very tasty. I highly recommend it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.