The Architecture Of Everything

I didn't get an opportunity to photograph women at work today. Hopefully tomorrow. Instead, here is me enjoying Theodore Gray's wonderful sequel to The Elements, called Molecules. The Elements is one of the best science books I have ever read, after Carl Sagan's Cosmos and The Demon Haunted World and Oliver Sacks' The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat. I began reading Molecules early last year but found it quite heavy going, more so than The Elements, and I gave up on it after a couple of chapters. Last week I decided to give it a second try and I am thoroughly enjoying it this time around. Perhaps I wasn't in the right mood for it last time.

If you have never read either of Theodore Gray's books about everything, then I cannot recommend them highly enough. His enthusiasm for his subject is extremely infectious. You will find yourself feeling the same kind of dizzy excitement about oil, soap and Teflon as Mr. Gray. But hey, don't take my word for it, listen to Oliver Sacks and Jamie Hyneman - I can't think of two more esteemed and trustworthy gentlemen to have writing a book recommendation. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.