We Can Remember It For You, Wholesale

I've been enjoying an online chat about SF books this evening and, inevitably, Philip K. Dick took up a big proportion of the discussion. Dick's favourite philosophical exploration was the question, "What is reality?" How can we be sure that what we think we remember are actually our memories and not artificially implanted memories. Indeed, how do we know that what we think we experience as "reality" is not a convincing virtual simulation? It's a question that never ceases to intrigue and terrify me and, with the onslaught of increasingly realistic CGI and "fake news," the question becomes increasingly pertinent day by day.

Indeed, how do I know how many online "friends" I chat with are real people and how many are just convincing A.I. programmes? (No offense, humans.)

Good question, Gary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.