1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Winter’s End, Day 3

Alan Nimmo, King King.

We saw 9 more bands today, most of them new to us, but now we’ve heard them, we’ve added them to our music library.

We wanted to see a local ( to us ) band from Burton-on-Trent called Theia. Never heard of them before and when they came on my friend suddenly yelled in surprise as she knew them. They were members of the same drama group as her son. Her son has also started up a band, so maybe we’ll be cheering and applauding them at Winter’s End one day!

The high light, and finale, of the event was one of our favourite bands, King King. Having met them a few times, we came across the drummer and keyboard player outside the venue so stamped for a chat with them. The keyboard player is fairly new, taking over when the previous one left about 6 months ago. In the course of conversation we discovered he is also from the Burton area. He asked if I know Newborough - I said I’d be in trouble if I didn’t as I work there Mon-Fri mornings! He said his mate runs the pub, so he’s often there for a drinkies. It’s a small world! Not sure he’ll be getting much time to do that now though, as King King tend to tour quite relentlessly.

Anyway, Alan was good enough to stand right in front of me for one of his solo moments and I was able to get this fab shot!

I’ve added Jonny, the keyboardist as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.