Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday Challenge: Ugly

This jug is one of a pair that belonged to my parents. I don't know when and where they got it, whether it was a present, something they bought or something inherited. The other of the pair went to my sister and, if I remember rightly, had a repair to the lip where it had been broken once. It isn't of any value; some years ago when 'The Antiques Roadshow' was being filmed nearby I took it and a few other things along for an opinion. The expert was a bit 'sniffy' about it; "Department Store decorative ware", he called it. Well, I have to say I don't think it's beautiful but it has sentimental value, and it certainly qualifies for Nickimags888's Mono Monday challenge of 'Ugly' in W's eyes; if I ever put it out on display it soon gets hidden behind something a bit larger. I found it today behind the printer. I thought I'd remove the old cobweb and dead woodlouse before I took the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.