TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~A Monterey Blue Dalea~

~Just Beginning To Bloom~

It time again for my Blue Dalea's flowers to start their appearance. This happens several times a year, an event I so look forward to, such a small flower that so captivates me. The entire flower post is about an inch long, and the flower itself is so minuscule.

I don't notice any great fragrance coming from this plant. This is surprising because as the entire bush begins to bloom the desert honey bees will swarm this plant. They become so numerous and in such multitudes that it seems to be fool-hearty to even approach this plant. I say "seems to be fool-hearty" because I'm sure I could venture into the middle of the bush and not get assaulted, let alone stung. Never have been afraid of bees, maybe that's why I don't get wounded, do they sense my lack of trepidation and my calm non-threatening behavior?

I do get bee stings more often then I care to admit though. When I'm on ol' No.9, my motorcycle, bees and other stinging insects are a occupational hazard. Down my shirt, entering my helmet, and hitting my face, it has all happened and will continue to happen as long as I ride. But I don't blame the little creatures, its not their fault! I have just run into the southend of a northbound bee.

Thanks for reading and visiting, TucsonJim ;o)


Look At The Bigger Flower

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.