The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Night Train

When I moved here from California, people said I would hate the cold weather. I can dress for warmth but I have yet to figure out how to recreate sunshine.

It seems as though a few short weeks ago we had daylight until 9pm. Now, I find myself commuting in darkness each way to work, no matter how early I leave the office. The sudden lack of daylight really causes me to struggle for energy this time of year. Every ache and pain seems to intensify and migraine headaches and mood swings seem to be a dime per dozen. Based on the emotions and tempo around the office and in the streets of the city, I don't think I am alone. By mid-November it seems that people adjust, but October can feel like an endless month. Once the wonders of winter arrive, this place becomes magic again but I do despise the tweener period that I call The Dark Ages.

Thank you for your kind comments on my Monkey blip. I have been lying quite low since Saturday trying to rid myself of a nasty bug and a migraine but I think I am now on the mend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.