Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Drama in the Street

Miserable day - dull and misty.

I came home sooner than expected from a blipsearch with a flat battery in the camera (no spare with me).

As I stepped out of the car, a sparrowhawk swept past in hot pursuit of a blackbird. The blackbird ducked under a parked car and the hawk landed on the roof of the next car (see 'extra') and kept watch. That allowed me to get my reserve pocket compact camera out (IXUS 285 HS), set the ISO to its highest (3200) and grab a few shots. The blackbird then made a break for it and the hawk swooped down immediately. Fortunately, there were more parked cars in the street and once again it sought refuge under one of them. The sparrowhawk landed on my neighbour's gate and again kept watch while I took a few more shots.

Unfortunately, at this point, my neighbour's daughter returned from school and approached the gate.  The hawk flew off over the roof and I presume the blackbird then made good its escape.


I was lucky. There was just enough light to capture it at ISO-3200, 1/60 sec at f7.
Actually, the bridge camera probably wouldn't have been able to do much better.

Female sparrowhawk - Accipiter nisus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.