Cheap Wine

I once heard someone say that life is too short for wine in a box. I disagree. It is cheap and dosage is a little hard judge, but it does the job in these difficult times. Besides, it is too hot here to brew my own beer.

I had a sh!thouse day at work. It was busy which I love but there were some impossible tasks set for us. We were doomed to failure. That and the fact that there is finger pointing in our direction over a job that is doomed to failure. We raised the alarm last week though so how can we be to blame? Now I know there are a lot of designers on the forum so I don't want to offend. This was one of those jobs that looked good on screen but on paper, no way was it ever going to work. A bit of prepress/designer communication would have gone a long way. We were overruled though so as not to upset the client. The job had gone through several middle men (nothing new there) who also didn't want to upset their client. So it went to print today and finally the penny dropped. After much scrabbling and adjusting, not to mention two new sets of plates, the job finally went onto the press. My problem with that is it isn't what the client signed off on and it will show in the final product. I can see a spoils coming with the inevitable finger pointing.

I went to visit Dad this morning. It was one of the highlights of my day. He was having his breakfast so I sat an encouraged him through the various courses. Feeding time is a long winded affair but then I guess it keeps the oldies occupied. I still think Dad isn't eating well, possibly because he lost his lower dentures so I have booked him in to get a new set made next week. He was in quite a good mood and asked after Jo. I really think he is starting to show a glow of health again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.